Skip to content
InfratoApp
InfratoApp / Resources / MCP servers / ynab-mcp

ynab-mcp

ynab-mcp is an MCP server. It reaches ynab. It needs YNAB_API_KEY to authenticate. Its repository has 4 GitHub stars and is licensed under MIT; we last read it on 2026-10-22.

Serves as a Model Context Protocol (MCP) server to connect with YNAB, offering tools for MCP-enabled clients to access budget data.

Install

MCP servers are packaged differently from each other -- some run via npx, some as a Docker image, some as a plain script you clone and run. ynab-mcp’s own README did not state one plainly enough for this page to quote it rather than guess, so it will not guess. The repository below states it.

What it reaches, and what it needs

Reaches
ynab
Credential
YNAB_API_KEY

What it connects to

Supported in
Claude Desktop

Unverified means a mention in the server’s own description, not a citation. A wrong claim here costs nothing to correct and nothing to trust yet.

Maintenance

Stars
4
State
stale
Licence
MIT
From the repository

A Model Context Protocol (MCP) server for interacting with YNAB (You Need A Budget). Provides tools for accessing budget data through MCP-enabled clients like Claude Desktop.

Common questions about ynab-mcp

What does ynab-mcp do?
Serves as a Model Context Protocol (MCP) server to connect with YNAB, offering tools for MCP-enabled clients to access budget data.
How do I install ynab-mcp?
Its README did not state an install command plainly enough for us to quote one, so we do not guess. The repository has the instructions: https://github.com/EthanKang1/ynab-mcp
What does ynab-mcp connect to, and what does it need?
It reaches ynab. The credentials we found in its source are YNAB_API_KEY.
Which AI clients can use ynab-mcp?
Its own description mentions Claude Desktop. That is a mention in its description, not a test we ran.
Is ynab-mcp official and is it maintained?
We found nothing naming it as a vendor’s official server. Its repository has 4 GitHub stars and its state in our directory is stale. Its last commit we recorded was on 2025-04-20.
What licence does ynab-mcp use?
The repository declares the MIT licence.

Learn this on Infrato